Turmoil (Atari 2600)

Turmoil was developed by Sirius Software and published by 20th Century Fox in 1982 for the Atari 2600.

Game description

Turmoil is a game released by 20th Century Fox for the Atari 2600 in 1982. It is one of the few games made by this company that is not based on a movie.

You play as a space ship who wander around a grid shaped are, attacking alien and other object from the left or the right.

There are nine difficulty levels in the game (which change the speed of the enemies). According to the instruction manual, the player must wipe out wave after wave of aliens in each level. As each level goes in, the aliens will become faster and faster (though if you choose the highest difficulty, they are already at them fastest at level nine). After the fourth level, the grid becomes invisible, which make navigation inside a little more complicated.

There are five kinds of alien ships that will attack you. They will take all sorts of forms, such as the space ship, UFO or square shaped variety.

There is also an arrow that might cross the screen from the left to right or vice-versa. If it is successful, it will turn into a tank. Speaking of which, Tanks shoot fast and can only be destroyed if hit from behind. All enemies will destroy you if they collide with your ship.

Bonus points will also appear in the grid. If you miss them, however, they will eventually turn into an object call the Supersonic Cannon Ball. If you successfully grab it, an indestructible ghost ship will move around the grid the prize appeared and must be avoided.

Each time a level is cleared by destroying all aliens, an extra ship is awarded. However, the player can’t have more than 6 ship at one time.

Although there is no background, the game feature very fast gameplay and varied enemies. Each level is introduced with a colorful gradient.

Turmoil playthrough

The playthrough use the USA version of Turmoil. The goal is to get the highest possible score before it overflows at the highest difficulty settings. 99990 is the maximum possible points. After level 9 is completed, it will be repeated over and over until the game ends.

TASing tools were used to offer a high quality playthrough.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *